Congratulations to Alison Brown

Congratulations to Alison Brown the 2012 Kusnik Award Winner.

As the sun streamed in through the windows of the ZigZag Gallery in Kalamunda.
Anticipation rose when the award ceremony began for the announcement of this years winners.

Dr Ric Spencer, writer and curator at Fremantle Art Centre, selected the winners.

The Kusnik Award, an award of Excellence, went to Alison Brown for her "Tideline Series"
The dome forms are a combination of slip trailing, moulded and hand built forms with intricate details of sea life found near her studio.

The Judges Award, a personal choice, went to Mary Wallace for her " Lotus Tea Set". A combination of wheel thrown and hand building. The tray and cups are carved with the lotus pattern and are presented, with a teapot, in a celadon glaze.

Highly Commended: 5 were given this year as the selector could not break it down to the usual 3.

They were awarded to:
Stewart Scambler, Landscape
Danica Wichtermann
Njalikwa Chongwe, circular raku forms.
John Blinco
Cher Shackleton, wood fired basket.

Many thanks to Gilbert Wines for their sponsorship this year. Bev Gilbert provided 3 types of their wine, all of which were very well received.
ZigZag Gallery staff (Nicola, Marilyn, Cheryl and Vanessa )
Thank you also to Stewart Scambler and Cher Shackleton who provided the plinths.
To Marie Owens, Lynne Carlin, Christine and John Blinco for the refreshments.
Njalikwa Chongwe, Helen Dundo and Holly Courtney, who helped with the set up of the exhibition and the transportation of the work.

The images are by C. Shackleton except the presentation images, thank you to Vanessa Robinson for capturing the moment. Cher.

Alison Brown
Judges Prize, Mary Wallace. Lotus Teaset
John Blinco. Highly Commended
Stewart Scambler. Highly Commended
Njalikwa Chongwe.Highly Commended
Danica Wichtermann. Highly Commended
Cher Shackleton. Highly Commended
Janet Kovesi Watt
Eleanor Frith
Sheryl Chant
Greg Crowe
Greg Crowe
Helen Foster
Howard Bradfield
Valerie Barron
Stephnie Hammill
Rosemary Scheon
Bill Meiklejohn
Sandra Black
Carolyn Lomman
John Blinco
Marie, Lynne,John and Christine

© 2018 All Rights Reserved
Ceramic Arts Association of Western Australia Inc.
Web hosting proudly donated by DogHouse Media

Enter your e-mail address.
Enter the password that accompanies your e-mail.